The Sunless Star

Here I fall through space,

on a backdrop of starlit lace.

My ties are severed.

My life dismembered.

 

There, a bright orange fume,

glowing on the starry loom.

What words to define

a night-cloud so divine?

 

Such extraordinary beauty

Found here, now the air leaves me.

From whence I came?

What was my name?

 

I am here. And I am all.

Still ever as I fall…

         Behold the universe of splendour!

        One last look, so tender…

    1 minute 10 seconds.

       Come hither. Death beckons.

 

I am content to die.

For, I am the sky.

I am the speck from afar.

I am the sunless star.

© K.N.Liddington

 

 

Leave a Reply

